AE: How to use normal attacks properly?

Hi, im new in fighting games (even if i would have started long time ago) and i started playing ssf4 ae.
I have a problem that seems to be a problem for many beginners, using to much special attacks. I tried to figure out why i do that and seems that is cause in someway i think, wrongly, that are safer for me. Playing and seeing that i m being highly punished for abusing specials i tried to play using more normals, poking and using combo but i cant. I don’t know how to reach my opponent and hit him without any consecuence and also for the few combo that i know, on cammy(the character i want to learn), even if in training mode i can make them, in a regular match i don’t know how to start. I watched some youtube tutorial like those from tbird and vesperarcade and i have read some guides in this forum and in sites like eventhubs, i also have watched matches to see how people play, from all this i learned a lot off stuff, and i am grateful to those who want help beginners, the problem is that i don’t know how to apply correctly what i’ve learned.
Can you guys give me some tips?

I kind of wish I hadn’t been lazy and finished the stuff I’m doing now back in February like I was supposed to, it may have helped you.
Its its a simple question but the answer can go pretty in depth, who do you use?

I’m using Cammy.

I would also like an answer for given question except for Ryu.

If no one else answers I’ll shoot both of you a reply, which may not be until after the Capcom Tournament this weekend.

That’s cool, better late than never! :smiley:

I also picked up Cammy by the way, just so you know.

Can I also get a reply as well?
Using Cammy too :smiley: