After the basics

I’ve noticed that there are plenty of tutorials every where marketed towards beginners, however past the basics of any game, help from those that can provide it starts to fall off. I’m relatively new to fighting games (about 3 months) and this is extremely noticeable in the game I like playing the most, Blazblue CSE. I guess my question to anyone who has a suggestion is what can I do to continue learning. I know how to do basic combos and which to do in certain situations, but I have an extremely hard time with defense, and online in UMvC3 if anyone tries even the most basic mix up on me they’ll get past my guard. I’m at a loss as to what to do besides just continue to play more, which I’m doing, but I can’t shake the feeling that I’m doing less learning and more developing bad habits.

start engaging in forum discussion relating to BB (I assume Dustloop?). It would also help to get yourself a mentor, preferably someone who plays the same character as you, to give you more pointed critiques. Once you’re past the total beginner phase you have to start getting a bit more active in pinpointing your areas of weakness, which will be different for everyone, hence less intermediate level focused tutorials.

If you are looking for “so your not a total noob, here the tutorial to advance into an intermediate level.” Not going to happen, and there is no content available. I have expressed similar frustrations at the lack of material bridging the gap. Gootecks has also stated there isn’t enough content with tutorials and the like. It also doesn’t help that most of the begginer guides are over complicated definition reading an combo tutorials, but other people get mad when beginners say they are only practicing combos, it is the only step by step guide that you see any improvement from.