Alien versus Predator

I’ve been playing AvP 2 for about 7-8 years now, so the new game coming out has definitely caught my interest. I downloaded the demo, and wrote up a review.

Alien Versus Predator demo by Rebellion. Review

Rebellion, I have to ask, if there was a thorough inspection of the demo, or was it hastily released to the public before the actual games release in a week? I’ve been really uncertain about the game play at first, from seeing teasers and trailers, so I took the liberty to play the demo on the PS3. It was incredibly long and painful to wait in match making, just for a demo. A problem, that I hope is fixed or doesn’t exist in the full release.

The actual game play felt clunky at first, being a AvP2 PC player, the odd and I find, very uncomfortable playstation 3 controller made it difficult to maneuver around. Choosing my old friend, the Alien, I quickly noticed several things missing from previous games. A quick summary, the Alien Drone requires much skill to win or even score a kill with. It isn’t the charge forward, aim straight and kill class, and will not be forgiving to any player who attempts to do so. The lack of quick successions in melee really play as a disadvantage for the Alien in close quarters combat against other species(Predator specifically), at first, the Alien seems to have many disadvantages and is the worst race of the three, which is, true.

However; the Alien drone is fast, it can walk on walls, it has a huge jump, and when you sneak up close enough behind your opponent, an option to use the execution kill will be made readily available. Pressing it will cause your alien to leap forward and pierce your enemy through the stomach, for a quick and stealthy kill. Aliens are also able to smell the pheromones of other creatures, such as human and predator, this allows the Alien to see their opponents through walls if in their proximity. It also renders the predators cloaking technology useless.