Am I retarded? (SF4)

I just got SSFIV AE today at gamestop and I’ve been trying the trials. I can’t do any of the trials that aren’t ridiculously easy (like the first 4 or 5). For instance, I’m on Cody’s 7th mission. lp > mp. TWO BUTTONS. Can’t do it for the life of me. Am I the only one on earth with this problem? Thanks

By the way, I’m using the standard xbox controller.

I’m guessing with 1 post and joining 4 minutes ago that SSF4 is your first game? Don’t worry about it, that lp > mp is a link. Look up ‘links’ somewhere in Newbie Dojo, the best I can describe them is that they are attacks that you have to wait for the 1st one to fully recover then the 2nd one will come out after and still hit.

To figure out the timing though, if the dummy blocks you hit the 2nd button you hit the button too late if your 2nd button doesn’t come out you hit it too early. Links are tough for new people, I’m not very good at them myself to be completely honest.

Here’s a pro-tip when learning moves that a LOT of people don’t know - and I’m NOT a SF4 player at all, and I noticed this…

When you hit your opponent, take a look at their life bar. You’ll see a spark or something move from one end to the other. THAT is the timing indicator. Hit the jab, and you’ll see it quickly move from one side to the other. RIGHT BEFORE IT GETS TO THE OTHER SIDE, hit strong.

I double tap all my buttons because I’m old school, but you can “plink” them too. I’m not the best person to explain plinking, but it’s in the FAQs

EDIT:

55-seconds.
Notice that little spark that’s on Dan’s health bar that travels from the timer to his face. Also notice that the player will hit the button just as the spark gets to his face?
Yep, that’s the timer.

You aren’t retarded your just green around the ears. Most people can’t even do cancels in the first week of their first fighting games, let alone properly execute a link