Am I the only one who despises Ryu and Ken?

Okay, so I’m new to Street Fighter. After EVO 2011 I finally decided to get SSF4 (getting the AE expansion later today) after not being able to really understand the SF streams, and I always wanted to give it a proper chance.

Anyway, I’m liking it so far, it’s a very different fighting game if you ask me, and so it’s fresh to me. I’ve been playing for a couple weeks, I started with Ibuki and now I’m learning Juri. I think I might learn Akuma soon, as well. Yeah, I know people usually only use one character in their entire time playing this game, but I’m not like that lol.

But what I really hate is how popular Ryu and Ken are. Well over half the matches I’ve played (I’ve played a bit over 100 now) are against either of the two, and it’s frustrating because personally I find them annoying to fight, and it’s just not fun to face the same character over and over (and they’re almost identical characters, too, so I guess you could say it’s just one character I keep fighting over and over)

Is it wrong to hate them? I just don’t understand… out of ALL the characters in the game, you have to choose to only use the one that 99% of the community already does? Come on now T_T

Yes, you’re a unique snowflake.

This is a bad thread…:tdown:

…but I don’t see that many of them in Endless. Stop playing Ranked.

i bet you liked ryu and ken before they went mainstream

It’s kinda the only way to get people on my level

welcome to SF

At a really low level Ryu and Ken are S+ Tier (relax fellas I am strictly speaking at a mash level - 2d ground zero) and to top it off they are the most iconic of all the cast. Just a warning, playing Endless may be a little intimidating for someone so new because the talent level definitely is higher than lower level rank matches.