Am I too good, or just bad, or over thinking?

Okay, sorry if this is in the wrong place, I don’t think it is a complete noob question and belongs in the noobie thread.
Here is the deal, as I stated, am I too good, or just bad, I know this sounds like an odd question so let me explain my self.

I mostly play on XBL. When facing somebody for the first time, if I get put into a combo, as soon as they put me into the air, I will mash 360 on my stick and mash S. On account of I have no idea how they play, how they will ariel exchange, or if they will even do it at all. If they Ariel exchange up, the next time I am caught, I will guess either left, right, or down. I do not input up. Why? Because they already did it. I think to my self what I think they are thinking. “Okay he is thinking I went up, so hes going to be expecting me to go up, so Im going to go in the other three directions” then they ariel exchange up again.

Another example is with my magneto. I usually approach with a addf H or S. If this gets blocked I think to my self. “Okay he knows I like to go with an overhead, hes going to expect me to go low now, so I will just go high again” This obviously gets blocked.

There are a few more examples, but I’m sure you guys get the general idea now.
So am I just bad? Over thinking? Is it because I am playing online people and 99% of people don’t really learn from their mistakes and are just playing on auto pilot? Or is the problem within me because I am just trying to hard and thinking too much? Or do I just suck at mind games?

Sounds like you’re giving your opponents way too much respect/overthinking.

Why would “Am I too good” be part of this conversation?

And yes, this belongs in the noob section.