AMD Radeon R7970 crashing constantly

Just installed this thing and after getting the drivers running smooth i put the card through it’s paces and downloaded + ran some games without any problems. Next morning when i booted up it barely got to my desktop before both screens went all scrambled and the machine rebooted. I have tried a number of things without any luck, at first i figured maybe it was overheating, so I pointed a fan at it and managed to get it to boot and run a bit longer, put MSI afterburner on it to monitor the heat and tweak the fan settings. again everything was looking great, the card was running at a cool 55C when bam same thing everything crashed.

any idea’s of what the heck is going on?

I’m pretty new to pc building/upgrading, so my knowledge is limited, but what is your powers supply rated at?

700W psu which is brand new.

Try an older AMD driver, AMD loves to release butt drivers sometimes.

I’ll give this a shot tonight, it’s been a while since i got a completely bad AMD driver… but it has happened to me before and i hadn’t thought of it this time around.

so perhaps i’m just retarded… but am i going to the right place to find older drivers… or has AMD removed them? support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/previous?os=Windows%207%20-%2064

did you buy it refurbished by chance? i’ve heard of people having to reapply thermal paste for used video cards. also, amd cards usually run on higher power draws so you could be overloading your PSU like camacho mentioned. 700w might be too low, especially if you’re running an amd cpu + gpu

I always over estimate how much wattage I need for my PSU in my PC builds. I always take values of my parts, then round up. Then from my calculations I pick the PSU atleast 1 up higher than I need.
Some people argue I go too high, but there never any harm getting a higher capacity PSU.