American "bat" controller or Sanwa JLF "ball" controller

Hey guys, I just found this site and had a quick question. I’ve been playing SF since 1991 and I am used to the arcade “bat” style controller. I have been looking into buying a controller and I noticed that this Sanwa “ball” controller is what most people are recommending. I’ve never played on it and was just wondering if most of you guys are using that for your custom controllers and if there is any real advantage to this stick over the “bat” controller.

Also, I never played on an arcade game that had that slanted button stlye that most sticks have. What is the reason for this? It seems like it would be awkward to play on that opposed to the normal straight button layout.

Thanks for any help.

Just preference.

I prefer the bat, by the way. Most people here prefer to use the ball top. I just don’t like it at all.

No advantage. It’s preference over the bat style. Choose which is better for you. Try both.

Slanted layout = Japanese Layout
Straight layout = American Layout

Again, preference.

It is about time you try a japanese stick then. The curve style in theory ergonomic, just look at the position of where your fingers are when you place your hand palm down on a surface, the curved layout suits it perfectly. However i don’t feel a difference when playing straight or curved.

You might have to get used to it, but i now prefer japanese sticks. The throw is shorter, it returns to neutral much faster and is more precise. However its all personal preference. I still prefer to use happ sticks for marvel but jap sticks for SF.

Ultimately, you may want to learn both. Go for the American style if you can get one since that is what you are used to. Maybe somewhere down the line learn the Japanese layout.