Animation/game speed correlation

Hi guys!

Been animating sprites for a fighting game in my spare time, but am confused about frame rate.

Fighting games run at 60fps. It therefore makes sense that I animate at 60fps.

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f202/bchan009/fighting%20game/2Q.jpg

I’ve created a 3 frame animation (stand lk).

Animating at 60fps, however, is crazy. Things will move so fast you won’t see anything but the first and last frame, with some flickering in between. I therefore have doubled the time each frame is visible. This means my animation is running at 30fps now. Things are visible again. But now it’s no longer a 3 frame normal in-game. It’s now a 6 frame normal, isn’t it?

How is it possible to have a game run @ 60fps, have visible animations, and have 3f normals all at the same time?

I’m an animator and am used to animating @ 24fps. I don’t know a lot about how fighting games handle animation.

Am I missing something?

Normally when people say ‘3 frame normal’ they just mean the amount of frames before (usually including) the first frame with an active hitbox. All moves have start-up, active, and recovery frames to account for.

Or maybe I’m just not following you.

Yes, I’m referring to a move that “comes out” in 3 frames. In my current example, I wouldn’t want damage to occur until at least the third frame of the animation (knee fully extended). But if I play these 3 frames @ 60fps, the middle frame (bending knees) will be just a flicker. You’ll see the character stand, a flicker, and then dmg will occur with a knee sticking out.

Is there some kind of interpolation or something that occurs in order to make the middle frame not flicker but still maintain game speed?

Honestly can’t answer that question for you, sorry. Hopefully someone else here can.

Isn’t the first frame you’ve drawn his neutral stance? Seems like you’ve actually drawn a two frame move.

Some thoughts.