Another new player thread, I guess

c-viper

I’m new to Street Fighter and fighting games in general, but I’ve always wanted to learn them. I’ve read up a bit on the game and I’ve learned a few simple bread and butter combos and I’m trying to improve my fundamentals.

It goes like this: I love C. Viper, she’s so fun to play and she’s very different thematically from the other characters in the game, but my tech skill isn’t at the level needed to play her at even a basic level and given my history with fighting games, I don’t know that it will be for a while. Like most new players I can’t do even the most basic links with any kind of consistency yet and don’t even get me started on EX Seismo->BK and so forth, that stuff is like 50/50 for me at best. And I can do like, feirce feint feirce in training mode, but using it in a real match is difficult, I tend to panic and do anything.

I was wondering if there’s a character I could play that is a little easier that might prepare me for playing Viper when I am ready to make the transition, or if it’s reasonable to just stick with playing her. In fighting games and in other competitive games (I come from Smash) I tend to have an attraction to very technical characters but I’d really like to do it right this time and learn the right way.

Nothing will prepare you more for Viper than simply playing Viper. “Learning the right way” is simply playing a LOT of matches, getting MUCH more comfortable, spending hours in training mode, etc.