Any tips for getting cr.lk into cr.lp?

dudley

I’m trying to use dudleys cr.lk for mixups to combo it into cr.lp>s.hk>ex mgb but I can’t land the cr. lp consistently for the life of me. I’m a bit new to plinking and I’ve been trying to use that for the c.lp but it doesn’t seem to work at all. Any tips?

Drum it into your muscle memory with practise. It should be no different to any shoto’s cr.LK cr.LP combos.

I don’t think you can plink cr.lp (it has no priority over any subsequent press iirc), you can plink the s.hk of course with hk~mk.

You could try recording the sound of you hitting the links with the right timing or use a metronome and just repeat that as a guide if you feel you’re getting nowhere with raw practice.

thanks guys the sound idea is working pretty well

cr.lk>>>cr.lp>>>Standing heavy kick>>>EX machine gun blow>>>>Win

What is plinking? I am new to SF4 and have hard time with getting consistency down? Is plinking a way to get combos out easier?

in a way yes.
basically in order to pull of a link (normal move to normal move) u have a set number of frames to input the linked button. What plinking does is trick the game into thinking that you entered an input multiple times. For instance, F+ Hk to HK is a 1 frame link. Meaning i have 1/60 frames to get that right (meaning my shits gotta be precise.)

What plinking does is make me input 2 s HK’s so that hopefully 1 of the 2 HK inputs correctly logs on the exact frame for the link. Thus the probability of successfully linking the combo is slightly higher.

In order to do the plink, you hit HK and then a button of lesser strength (i.e. mk or mp etc) slightly after. If you look up plinking on youtube you can see video of people doing this.

To know if you are doing it correctly, u can go to training mode, put on show inputs and if you are plinking hk with mk, then your input should show:
Hk+MK
HK

HK appears twice but u’ve only pressed it once.