Any tips for someone very good with electronics looking to make fight stick for PS3/4 from scratch?

Hi guys - I hope this is the right place to ask this. I’m sorry if this has been answered already, but it looks like a lot of the talk on the subject of fight sticks here is all about mods, or building from kits, as opposed to from the ground up.

I’m thinking of building a nice fight stick, from scratch, for fun.

It doesn’t look all that too difficult to do. I have a lot of experience working in interfaces for music production and performance (MIDI controllers, etc), but never explicitly for video games. I’ve done a lot of DIY and custom stuff, and currently work for Keith McMillen Instruments. (Interestingly, one of the boutique competitors in the MIDI controller space is a company across the bay that makes something called the MIDI Fighter, a sixteen arcade button interface obviously inspired by the kind of games we like here. Their interfaces are pretty, but actually not very musically expressive in practice). I’m really, really in to even much more complicated electronics, and am in the process of starting a company that makes high-end next-level analog modular synthesizers and other studio music electronics. (If that sounds cool, check out the community muffwiggler.com). In comparison, a joystick and eight Sanwa buttons doesn’t look too tough.