Anybody else get horrible hate mail when playing with Seth?

seth

I’m serious. It doesn’t matter if I win or I lose, any game I play using Seth I get hate mail. Also, it isn’t just a couple words, it is chapters in a book worth the hate mail.

Sometimes I respond telling them to move on with their life (or get a life), or clearly explaining Seth’s advantages and disadvantages to them so they might possibly understand.

I think from now on, though, I am just going to write “GG” and be done with it.

When will people understand that there really isn’t a cheap, there are different play styles. I mean, Seth using his range game is no different or more cheap than throwing fireballs and Shoryukening when anyone gets close or anything else you can think of that is annoying… Which is what 90% of the people online do.

Yeah, people get downright vile when playing against my Seth, and I’m not very good with him. Must be because they have had some terrible single-player experiences with him, and the very sight of the Tanden Engine brings back repressed memories.

I’ve noticed that when I pick Seth and if I win with him, my opponent will quit, this also applies with losing. I haven’t gotten any hate mail…yet.

My first assumption is they think a boss character is “cheap”

Nah, people just get pissy about evasive characters. I get drops and immediate quitting all the time with Fuerte. It’s like the people who bitch at 'Sim players for keepaway. There’s this bizarre sense among scrubs that if you’re not playing face-to-face where you can eat a Fierce SRK, you’re Doing It Wrong. I imagine it’s because they’re used to playing other Shotos/Blankas/Giefs, and have trouble adapting to characters who don’t walk right up to them and spam Big Risky Attack of Choice.

For my part, I’m extremely impressed after I play a good Seth, because I’ve had plenty of opportunities to see how paper-thin he is.

No hate mail, but rage quits often.