Anyone feel like critiquing what I'm doing wrong

abel

I started playing SSF4 around November 1st of last year, and I switched to maining Abel a little over a month ago. I still have a lot to learn, so I might be asking questions that might seem common knowledge to everyone.

[media=youtube]AiOOG5MF5h8[/media]

Well, I went into training mode today, took 4 combos and recorded myself doing them. I left the inputs on so you can see exactly what I was doing, and I even practiced each combo from facing both sides in case anyone notices a difference.

I’m looking for not only the what I I need to fix, but (more importantly IMO) the why and how. For example, don’t just say “quit mashing lk in combo 3”, but more like “You only should do 2 LK and nothing more in Combo 3. If you spam LK the negative edge from that button press has a better chance of dropping the link to s.lp” (I have no idea if that’s true, or if negative edge is something that would factor here. It just sounded technical).

One of the things I already am curious about is how come my FADCs are coming out as focus attacks. There are several times I did forward during the mp+mk and a forward right afterwards (which should make me dash) but it only comes out as shoulders. If it matters any, I actually have focus set to my 4th button on my stick.

The combo’s aren’t like pro-only combos, but they are complex enough to where I can’t just do them 100% of the time. I know the text is a little messed up, so here are the combos:

Combo 1: c.mp > mp.CoD FADC c.hp XX Ultra 1 - 13 Hit

Combo 2: c.hp XX lp.roll > c.lp > lp.roll XX lp.Torndao Throw - 3 Hit

Combo 3: f+mk XX Dash > c.lk > c.lk > s.lp. > s.mp XX f+mk XX Dash > c.mp > mp.CoD FADC c.hp XX Ultra 2 - 4 Hit + 13 Hit

Combo 4 (corner): f+mk XX Dash > c.mp > mp.CoD FADC c.hp XX c.lp > lp.roll XX c.HP XX Ultra 1 - 5 Hit + 11 Hit