Anyway to pratice at Street Fighter Alpha 3?

I have recently gotten an emulator and I’ve been playing Street Fighter Alpha 3 with a 360 controller on it. For some reason, the A.I is so damn difficult to deal with. I’m relatively new to Street Fighter in general but I feel like I can’t even play worth crap. The A.I won’t give me room to breathe and puts a beat down on me fairly quickly. I was wondering what’s the best ways to practice? I can’t practice on the game because it only has Arcade and no training mode. My main is Ryu (he’s the easiest to use imo) but even with him I get my ass handed to me. Any tips on how I can play better on Alpha 3?

Safest ways against computers is to learn which attacks are unsafe to attack after and just block/defend there. Work out which attacks of theirs are unsafe, and start being aggressive there. Trying to attack at the same time as the computer can be unwise since it has far better reactions then you.

Thanks, I’ll try that out.

Hit F2 when the game loads, enter Configuration. Go to Game. Lower the difficulty. Exit by hitting Start and Shot 1 (Which should be Light Punch/Jab).

The best way to practice A3 execution is to get the PS2 alpha anthology and set the dip switches to arcade perfection.

You can also use mame cheats to set up infinite life, but you still need a macro or something running so the dummy will try to flip out constantly. This is assuming you’re practicing Vism.

Practicing combos against the computer has somewhat limited usages generally, but especially in A3. As soon as you screw up your VC, you’re back to whiffing throws for meter. It’s better if you can set things up for infinite bar.

Oh, and use GGPO/Supercade. Play with other players. Set it up right and find some matches here on the SRK. Hell i’d play you right now on GGPO if I didn’t have to go to sleep.

I would avoid playing against the Alpha 3 AI. You’ll learn anti-AI strategies that aren’t very helpful.