Appealing a manager @ work = termination?

Im wondering if by going over a manager instead of just taking an L sorta seal your fate as far as longevity of your current job?

To make a long story short, my manager wrote me up today for doing a “no call no show” almost 2 WEEKS ago, I wont even try to make sense of why she waited so fucking long…ANYWAY, only I called into my job several times with no answer several hours before my shift, left a message and even called my manager later in the day (after I was feeling better) to tell her I could still come in since the pain had gone away.

My manager’s argument is basically I should have called her personally (even though she was on vacation) and that she has a cell phone for a reason (to answer our calls 24 hours a day) and that leaving a message AT WORK on the call-out line, was the incorrect procedure. Too bad I’ve been doing that for the last 2 years since I’ve been working here way longer than her. Well, I stressed the fact that I called in and nobody answered the phone which is why I left a message like the handbook said…she goes “nobody’s ever sitting in the office to answer the phone” WHAT? :confused: How many of you would call a supervisor who you have NO personal relationship with at 5 in the morning, while they were on vacation, to tell them you werent coming to work, when you could just call in to your job? For starters I think its in horrible taste and secondly, if you didnt tell me it was okay to do so, why act as if it was something that should be understood?

I think its funny how some personalities on the job try to regulate, but they themselves are full of shit. I work in a kitchen, this lady comes to work undressed ie: not in her chef uniform, walking around an oil and water filled floor in her timberland boots and jeans (real dikey broad she is), leaves every day for hours on end, smokes, eats on the clock…its really laughable that she has the nerve to try and crack down at work all of a sudden.