APPLE HELP! Noob Inside

Well, I’m a freaking noob when it comes to apple’s. I bought a laptop from a friend, it’s an Apple Ibook Laptop I’m having trouble trying to play like a .avi file which I know I need a diffrent player but they won’t install*_*. I tried VLC for mac and it don’t work get an error when i try to run it. Someone please help!!! Got a couple more questions not many at all tho.

Thanks in Advanced
Skimitar
:clap:

A good app to use is MPlayer, I use that more often than not. Usually If I have a stubborn video file, I’ll just open it in final cut pro, but at a thousand bucks, thats just a little too pricey to open some random AVI file. Mplayer works a lot like VLC, but I’ve found it to be a little more reliable. AVI is really just a container format, so its possible that it may even play on WMP for mac or even Quicktime, but I’d say definitely give MPlayer a try first.

http://mplayerosx.sourceforge.net/

You can find lots of useful mac stuff at www.versiontracker.com under the mac osx search field.

Just out of curiosity, what kind of iBook is it? a white one? Also, which version of OSX? (I hope you are using OSX =p) You can find this in tha apple menu on the top left “about this mac”. that may help with future troubleshooting issues you may have.

Some of the really wacky Windows media codecs can only be played using Windows media player - and some of them only work on Windows. There is an old version of Windows Media Player 9 for OS X, and it’s pretty crappy, but it will handle a lot of the stuff the VLC/MPlayer can’t.