Approaching and Air Combo Problems

Hey guys, I am completely new to the fighting genre besides a couple of games (SSB, NS) and I just picked up UmvC3 for my birthday on Tuesday and I’m completely obsessed! I just have a couple problems that are seriously holding me back…

1. In matches where enemies are far away from me I find it extremely hard to approach them. I try to move forward but I am either destroyed by a combo or I end up blocking and being pushed back to the edge of the screen and the opponent ends up on the other edge.

2. When I try to execute some air combos my opponents always know how to counter me. I try to create a basic LMH combo but thy seem to recover before I can hit them with a third hit (H). Also if I try a team aerial combo they somehow hit my character before I can switch and cancels the combo.

3.I know I probably will get smashed for saying this as I have read other threads of people saying this but I am getting the new hori umvc3 fightstick Friday because even though I am new, all I do is play this game and I am not looking for a petty 80 dollar fight stick. I’m hoping that this is a good choice…

1. This question is character specific as some characters can get in on people easier than other for instance Wesker can easily rush people down where as Thor has some trouble. So I would recommend checking out some of the forums fabulous guides for help on this issue.

2. Practice, practice, practice. Hit up training mode and practice your butt off. It ma be hard at first but it will eventually come naturally and become muscle memory. As for TAC’s your opponent can counter them so that’s why they can cancel your combo. It’s pretty much rock paper scissors so the best you can do is try and mix up the directions of your TAC.

3. What Hori stick are getting in particular? Nevertheless Hori makes some quality sticks and if you really are into MvC3 and fighting games in general then I would say a stick is definitely a good investment.