Arcade stick faceplate

I didn’t see anything about this in any thread so I created one. I wanted to know if you have to used more than one drill bit to make 6 different holes in a stainless steel faceplate. Do you guys know if the bit is going wear out after drilling 2 or more holes, if so how many 30mm bits do you guys think I should buy.

Well I have no experience cutting metal, but I think I can make clear (if it is not already obvious) you will want a hole saw and not a spade or forstner bit. They’re usually pretty tough and I think you’d only need one, but I’ll leave that assessment to someone with some experience with this.

it depends on the bit type and material the bit is made of. i don’t have much experience in metal cutting so i would ask somebody else about the bit material. I would say diamond or carbide bit.

Stainless steel is one of the more difficult metals to work with using conventional tools. I would recommend finding some aluminum to work with instead. Then listen to Slagcoin and get a holesaw. Good luck. :tup:

Where did you find stainless steel? That sounds awesome.
IMO, aluminum’s too soft, if mounted with no other support. Like in this pic…

^^That’s steel, but I’m using just for illustration of what you shouldn’t do with the same gauge aluminum.

I recommend you use a 1-1/8 in (29mm) hole saw instead of 30mm so you don’t run the risk of over sizing the hole. If you prep correctly, you’ll only need 1 29mm bit. Also, make sure you have some sort of lube.

1. Make sure you drill straight.
  2. Make pilot holes 1st, since it’s harder to keep the bigger hole saw bit from walking on you.
  3. Drill on a flat surface.
  4. Make sure your panel is clamped down .

gl with ur stick dragonjab

This kind of holesaw?

I think I’ve never seen them in 29mm.

What’s the hole size for the stick? 24mm?

as long as the holesaw is HSS, and I think the size of a sanwa stick hole is 21mm?