Arcade Stick versus Gamepad

Which do you prefer, arcade stick or gamepad?
(Now, I know this little topic has been absolutely driven into the ground, but I need this poll as hands on research for my public speaking class.)
I’ll gladly thank you now for a post in the future.
If your reply is really good, I might ask you for a quote!! :lovin:

I don’t understand how you can compare AS and gamepad. It’s how you campare space ship and cycle :rofl:

I just started playing with Stick 2 months ago. I bought an almost unused Regular HRAP for almost nothing, I’m currently awaiting 6 x Sanwa OBSF-30RG to replace those shitty Hori-buttons.
When I lose because of bad directional inputs, I tend to use pad. Also my stepping is very shitty with stick, though I’m slowly progressing. I prefer Stick over Pad in style, but at the moment I am much better on a pad ;.

Hey, Riki, mind if I quote you on that? I can use your initials or whatever you please.

Yeah sure.

How would you like to be Identified? Your screen name?

Yes, It’s hard to get away from what you are used to, for sure. After playing CvS2 on Gamecube for so long, I actually bacame accustomed to that terrible, crooked stick. Not that I think it’s a terrible controller, it’s just not too good for fighters (or shmups for that matter.)
Off topic: God that game had some butchered attack names (Fireball?)

I recently dropped my pad habit. Had been using a pad since World Warrior on SNES, so you could say I was really used to playing pad.

I went out and got me a HRAP 2 and forced myself to use it all the time. It’s been probably 2-3 months and now that I’m used to it I’ll never go back. Everything seems easier from super motions to combo execution.

I’ve heard somewhere on this very site, that HRAP’s should be the 3D fighting gamer’s choice apparently this isn’t true. I’ve seen Shady K use a HRAP when he fought against TDP, and you use a HRAP 2 yourself.