Are Fighting Games the right choice for me?

I’ve got to a point where I’m quite capable of fighting the computer on Medium difficulty but I just cant seem to progress skill wise any further. I get bodied repeatedly online, I try to learn combos and learn from my mistakes, I’ve got 10+ years of COD experience which may be my downfall because I feel I can’t be good at anything other than shooters, I really do want to succeed at Fighting Games and I have the determination, I’m just lacking knowledge, advice and guidance. Anybody out there willing to take a noob apprentice under their wing and teach me the ways of Fighting Games. Thanks guys

I feel like there’s already a couple of these types of threads up, and you could probably just go in one of them and ask the same question instead of creating a new thread. But since I got a warning for posting an “unhelpful” reply, I’ll give this one a go.

Playing the AI can be beneficial to a very small extent. I would do arcade mode if I was a complete noob to the game just so I could familiarize myself with the basics and get comfortable with the buttons, etc. But you’ll reach a plateau pretty quickly playing against the AI, even on the hardest level. That’s when I’d say to stop completely, and then start playing people. You’ll still get bodied, for quite a while (at least in my case). But over time, if you’re committed, and you’re having fun, you will progress.
Win or lose, save the replay of your first match. Then just keep playing. Don’t watch it. Save a couple more if you want, but don’t delete and watch your first match. After a couple of months of straight playing, compare your latest match with your first match. You’ll see how terrible you were when you first started.

The nerds who play online most likely played more than you. It’s as if someone new were to say play COD while versing you. Course you have some guys who play casually and some who simply chose to be more competitive. Really not that complicated.