Are the Madcatz SE Sticks safe to buy now?

I’m assuming the newer batch should have addressed the issues that plagued the older ones?

Can anyone who got one recently confirm this? Sorry if this doesn’t deserve its own thread but I really don’t know where else to ask.

While I’m here I’m new to the whole ‘Stick’ scene, what is this gate business I am reading online? 4 way/8 way … I couldn’t find a dedicated guide to this anywhere on here, can someone please link me to a good one somewhere. Thanks.

Your friend dosen’t know what he is talking about lol.

Lol thank you, I thought so. It just didn’t make any sense.

And to anyone wondering, I edited the first post. I thought it would be better to get some ground knowledge on Sticks.

I dont know if the washer issue is resolved, but just expect to change atleast the stick after a while, as mine is utterly useless after about 80 hours use, and thats without the washer issue.

Buttons arnt much better now either to be honest, a couple of them are sticking quite often.

A gate is a small piece of plastic that restricts the movement of the stick, often labeled square or octagonal. The easiest way to think of this is to imagine the number of “corners” your stick has. A square gate gives you four corners, and an octagonal gives you 8 corners. A square only has the corners for diagonals, Up-Forward, Up-Back, Down-Forward, and Down-Back, and an octagonal has “corners” for those and up, down, left, and right.

I prefer the square gate, as it gives you a smoother feeling while rolling motions, but if you’re having problems knowing if you’re holding forward, backwards, up, or down, get an octagonal. Japanese arcade standard is square I believe.

not certain, but the washer problem is probs already fixed…well…that’s what markman said anyways - that the Quality Control would be looking specifically for this problem