As a complete newcomer what is the most important thing to work on first?

Im completely new to fighting games in general and I have been having a hard time beating anyone online even against people with 100 - 300 bp, so I wanted to ask what technique or mechanic should I master first to get better?

In example, in Starcraft you could win a fair amount of games if you could simply out macro your opponent and the real deep strategies only truly mattered in higher levels of play.

1.) Study and observe some decent matches. It will help you with self knowledge of the match and the character’s abilities.
2.) Find your character that suit your personal play style.
3.) Train yourself into betterment. Learn about the character and it’s pros and cons, what the character can or cannot do.
4.) Study the fighting game vocabulary to get an better understanding of the term (Option select, Bread and Butter (BnB), Footsies etc.).
5.) Check out some combo videos in your spare time. It can help you expand your knowledge on new combos for that specific character.

There’s more, but this should be a good start for you. And welcome to the world of fighting games!

blocking/defense. you can easily get to 1000BP just by anti airing bad jumps and blocking unsafe specials and punishing with throw or sweep. eventually you’ll want to learn simple combos that do more damage and punish with that, but that’s all just so you can win faster.

When i started, because i thought balrog’s rush upper loop was so fucking cool, i spend hours upon hours in training room getting it down. I told myself i woulndt stop playing until i could do 2 loops without dropping it, then it turned into 10, then 20 loops.

I think understanding the timing to button presses helps alot. Also knowing what button to press and when to press imo is crucial. I used to throw shit out and pray to got something hit.