Baby Steps to Guile

Im a newbie at SF4 and after playing a few months of Yun (he was my favourite character at the time), I was recommended to start learning the game first through a guys like Ryu and Guile. I like Guile more and decided to start playing him. Other than learning his normals and their usage, what are steps/milestones should I learn to start? (Im also new to charge characters so any advice on them is helpful too)

Learn how to play guile zoning game properly. Guile can win just by zoning pple to death

Since that isn’t specific enough, I’ll share with you the advice I’ve been given by a Guile player who shreds me constantly:

1. Learn your anti-airs. If I remember correctly, other than Flash Kick (which is insanely unsafe, so don’t just throw it out all the time) you can use c.HP, s.MP, s.MK, s.HP, and Backfist (F.HP - used when they’re really far away, and jumping. You can also catch neutral jumps with it, if they decide to use that to dodge your booms)

2. Don’t give up your space. It’s hard to get in on Guile without losing your health.

3. Don’t autopilot your booms. Always know why you’re using it.

4. You can walk behind LP Boom to pressure them when they try to react to it somehow.

That’s what I was told I should work on with my Guile. Hopefully it helps.

Sprinkle in a lot of practice/patience. Ultimately its all about feel. Once you get a lot of practice zoning and pressuring with him it’ll start to make a lot of sense on it’s own.

Keep it simple to start. No jumping forward. Throw booms and anti air jumps with crouching Hp. Follow your booms and continue pressure with a cmk, standing Hp or shk. Space people out with your cmk as well. Really boom cmk and chp can help you develop a lot in terms of fundamentals.