Being demolished under pressure

ibuki

I’ve been playing Ibuki for almost two years now, but I guess out of all that time I’ve spent learning things slowly (from SJCs, combos, chains, links, mixups, etc) it doesn’t seem like any of it pays off. I get beat more than half of the matches I fight. Most of them end up being won by people who can rush me without any issues.

I’ve seen one or two Ibukis do the same, but when I try doing it I end up getting punished no matter what option I try. Or I survive the match only to lose because of Time Overs. No matter what I know, no matter how many different things I try, I can never beat these people. Is it because people don’t care to play you properly in endless, or that I’m just not fast enough?

You made the mistake of working on your execution instead of your fundamentals.

Sounds like you spent a lot of time learning advanced execution, but you don’t have the fundamental skill, or enough match-up experience, to make it count. It’s not enough to just know HOW to do advanced Ibuki movesets, you have to know when, where, and WHY should use it.

If you’re being rushed at without issues, it’s possible that your defense is lacking. Getting thrown too much? Not doing proper anti-airs? Not controlling your space? Getting caught by too many frame traps? You have to revert back down to your basics, and improve the fundamentals of learning how to control space properly.

Well, I don’t have a problem with controlling space, it’s more like I can’t hold it for very long. It’s like the person I go up against assumes I’m shit. It’s like I wanna CD to the other side to confuse, but all I get is mashed LP’d before I can do anything.

Sounds like you go for the mix-ups at the wrong time, or you play too aggressively when you should be slowing down. Only scrubs fall for command dash mix-ups all the time, you have to learn to train your opponent to not expect it in order for it to work.