Best way to begin SSF4 or good beginner guides?

Hey guys, I’m actually kinda new to fighting games in general since I would button mash mostly. But now I wanna keep that bad habit in the past and start fresh so I picked up SSF4 and started an account here. I’m wondering for someone who is completly new to fighting games basicly, what would be the best way to start learning and getting good enough to play online and other people in general?

Are there any good guides for beginners to SSF4 or fighting games in general around the web? I did see the video thread above that had videos for total beginners, but unfortuntely I couldn’t exatly make out what the person was saying in one of his videos. I’ll try viewing it again and try to listen to it more clearly but only if you guys really recommend it and theres nothing better on the web atm.

But if there are any other good beginner guides out there let me know, I really wanna play online soon and hopefully win some matches.

Oh btw I almost forgot, who are some good beginner chars for SSF4? I’m thinking of using either Sagat, Fei Long, or Cody but most likely I think I wanna use Cody unless he’s a hard char to use.

I would say Ryu or Ken are pretty decent beginner characters.

http://shoryuken.com/f322/basic-video-tutorial-guide-total-beginners-ssf4-234560/

Hope that helps…

this tutorial is legit

[media=youtube]1_nS5Jj3pHY[/media]

just watch the rest and hopefully you can make sense of it

oh and play ryu. he’s very basic and he’s really easy to use. after him, you can play whoever else.

Yea those were the videos I was refering to. Is this the best guide out there so far as for total beginners? If so I’ll watch it again then, I just couldnt comepletly make out what the guy was saying as all due to his heavy accent (no offense). But like I said I’ll view it again and listen to it more carefully if its really that good. And would this be better then reading a writtin guide?