Best way to reduce throw on a stick?

I’ve been tinkering with the JLF Ultimate Mod for a few weeks now, and QuickTite is not keeping the electrical tape in place. I’ve heard that the heat shrink tubing tears and causes friction against the gate. Is there a better way to reduce a stick’s throw, perhaps a modification to the gate itself?

The best way to adjust the throw of a JLF is to not adjust the throw on the JLF. Just get used to the stock stick. You’ll thank yourself later.

Besides, throw on the JLF is pretty moot anyway, given that the engage and throw are different. You don’t have to ride the gate.

Why, is an unmodified JLF considered superior for performance? I’ve got an extra spring in it right now and electrical tape on the actuator (2 layers to shorten the engage, 3 layers to shorten the throw). It seems like the stock JLF has a big dead zone, but I’m relatively new to the nuts and bolts of arcade hardware.

Why would you mod your JLF in the first place?

The dead zone felt too big, the stick felt like it could snap back to neutral a little quicker, and I thought it’d be more comfortable to have a shorter throw. After all this tinkering I have no idea what I want anymore.

He’s the thing: Stock Sanwa JLFs are not one of the arcade standard sticks because they need home depot springs and duct tape to function correctly. There is a trend with American Street Fighter players, especially those new in the SF4 era, to say to themselves, “this isn’t broke, but I want to fix it.”

There is absolutely nothing wrong with stock JLFs. In fact, they’re fucking awesome. You don’t need to go to all these lengths to have a playable stick. It kicks ass right out of the box. The overwhelming majority of the world’s best Street Fighter players who use Japanese sticks use perfectly stock sticks.