Bionic Punch (A thorough research)

spencer

Hi there fellow Spencer players. If you’re like me, you are planning to main Spencer in MVC3. And like me, I’m pretty sure we’ve done combo experiments, tested out what works and doesn’t, etc. But one thing I have noticed, is how incredibly fast his Bionic Punch special is. Its like a faster version of Jin’s Blodia Punch from the earlier MVC series. Not only is it fast, but it counters a lot of specials!!!

So the reason I made this thread is to focus on his Punch special and what does it counter? I will work on this list as the days come (and heck maybe you guys can help me out here) and try to give out the entire list (possible a spread sheet. Although I’m not tech savvy, I will try my best here). For example if may look something like this

Character/ Special / Range/ Counters it? / Will you take damage/

Wesker/ Maximum Wesker(ground)/ Far/ Works/ None
Wesker/ Maximum Wesker(air)/ Far/ Works/ None
Sentinel/ Hyper Sentinel Force (ground)/ Mid/ Works/ Yes

Of course this is a rough draft and I will definitely keep updating this list. If possible, I can even make a video of this as soon as we have all the data available.

You’ll only need to remember that it will go through ANYTHING for the first 11 frames of the move. You’ll own anything/anyone during those frames. The move is more useful at mid-range, where your opponent thinks he can start spamming projectiles or use assists.

I know for sure that the Bionic Lancer usually loses to a few supers.

The ones that I can think of on the top of my head are:

X-23’s Weapon X Prime, which is the super where she dashes up to you and combos you. You will usually ALWAYS lose to that. It’s one of the few things where I lost after activating Bionic Lancer when she flashed to do her super.

Viewtiful Joe’s Mach Speed, which is the super where he ignites himself and goes for a movie-like combo.