Brand new LS-55 feels too 'loose'

So I just received my custom joystick from Finkle, (Sanwa buttons, Seimitsu LS-55, squaregate) great work.

I’ve never used a joystick before, always used to a keyboard. Now my problem is I suck with joystick now… The joystick feels WAAAY too ‘loose’. It feels like there’s just way too much room and it’s too sensitive. (the joystick)

Now my question is, is this how a Japanese joystick is supposed to feel? It just feels so darn loose and I often jump when I’m trying to hold back and often duck for no reason. Everything is brand new btw.

So is this something I’ll just get used to or should I opt for a stiffer joystick? (Happ?)

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Possible options:

1. Mod it with an extra spring.

2. Buy a LS-56 (LS-56-01 if you use the 5-pin cable) with an octagonal restrictor. It is a little shorter but should be ok:

http://akihabarashop.jp/catalog/seimitsu-LS55.jpg

http://akihabarashop.jp/catalog/seimitsu-LS56.jpg

just get used to it

i’m sure the micro switches make a noise and send a light vibration up the shaft, listen to them. also go in to practice mode and just start working with the key dislay and see what you’re hitting,

it will take some time, but i assure you once you’re used to it you will love the superior feel and precison of your jap stick

edit: another spring could help too, just play with it for about two weeks and then if its still off to you, you can make an adjustment

If you’ve never used a jpn joystick, this is normal. Before using a jpn stick, I was a hardcore happ user. When I started to use my first Sanwa, I had the same problems you were having: random ducking and jumping, shoryuken’s not coming out, etc. And yes, a jap stick is pretty loose and soft to the hand. That’s why jpn players have quick hands. It’s just a hand training thing. Play more and it’ll become easier.

Thanks dude.