"Breaking in" to fighting games - Places to start

Hello FGC!
I’m trying to get into fighting games and the scene in general, but admitting that I’m complete rookie to the whole genre, I could definitely use some basic pointers about where and what to start with. Fighting games feel like a genre that jumping into can be unnerving at best, and straight up intimidating at worst, but it’s general skills are something I’d really like to learn, so I’d appreciate any tips to keep in mind to help break that intimidation-barrier.

Not to turn this into introduction-thread, but couple of lines will help to explain where I’m coming from.
I have good 15 years of experience with Playstation, so I’m definitely familiar with PS controller. Not as much with PC, I bought my first decent gaming PC last year, and playing with keyboard still needs perfecting.
About fighting games, I’ve played tons of Divekick, and I’m already grasping it’s meta-game pretty well. Besides that, I’ve played few hours of Skullgirls (PC) and P4Arena (PS3), and King Of Fighters XIII looks gorgeous, something I’m seriously thinking of buying. I guess I can see bit of anime-edge there, but defining element here is 2D-fighters. Also, my friend plays Smash on national level (even goes to some tournaments on States every now and then), and new Smash looks so good that I’m probably gonna jump on that wagon, but I guess the Smash-argument is still going on…?
About FGC itself, I know some of Spooky’s stuff, and I’m big fan of TheSw1tcher on Youtube, so I’m not complete stranger to some of FGC’s basic terms and goings-on.