Breaking into a New Fighting Game

Hello Everyone:

I have recently begun to get into the competetive world of FGs recently and decided its time to finally buckle down learn this game. I’m a bit of noob to most Capcom fighters, but I’m not a complete noob to fighters in general. I’ve been playing mostly MK and Injustice(IGAU) for a good while, so I know I have some of the basics needed to learn this game and take it further, but I know the game’s system is very different form the MK and IGAU. I understand SF is more about charge moves and QC, and HC moves, as compared to IGAU and MK’s more simplistic inputs and I understand the combo system is very different. My question is if anyone would be willing to help push me in the right direction to finally get started.

For the times I have played SF I can say a few things, I use a stick typically, don’t see any other way IMO, and the characters I typically always used when I play have always been CHun Li and Cammy, not sure how good these two play on a higher level, but hey its where I started, pretty sure I’lle start picking up on others, so any advice is welcomed.

I’m just warming up after 10 years out of streetfighter and doing ok. If you need an average player to spar against, feel free to add me on Xboxlive if you play SFIII of SFIV, tag: TooFarSouth

I’de appreciate, but unfortunately I’m only on PSN, thank you for the offer though. I’m getting into SSF4 AE more, because I feel that soon IGAU is gonna much of its hype, we are already hearing some insanity about how one character has broken the game’s mechanics and well, I still wanna compete, besides SF was the first FG I ever played.

Yeah I’ve heard alot of talk of imbalance in the injustice community. It may be pointless advice, but in the settings on Injustice you can actually set up the controls to “alternate” so that they’re more QCF and HCF based, rather than just directional. Might help you juggle both games a bit easier?