Building a Stickless Arcade Stick

Hi SRK, newbie here. I’ve been scouring around and have come up with various threads all of which seem to confuse me. I want to build my own arcade stick into a standard aluminum enclosure, thing is, i don’t want an arcade stick, i want to use a WASD button configuration. I have some electronics experience and am fully capable of making my own guitar related circuits so the soldering and such wont be a problem. What are the things i need besides buttons obviously.

in short:
-need a schematic
-need a parts list excluding 10+ buttons
-need guidance

thanks!

Your search is a little weak… Start by looking at these two things:
http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?posts/6973780/
http://www.slagcoin.com/joystick.html

Electronically arcade buttons buttons and sticks work the same way (Arcade sticks are just buttons and a lever.)

so basically i need a PCB with the components on it, wondering if i can use an old keyboard, seems like it should work although the wiring could be difficult

You mean for the buttons? There’s a PS2 keyboard reading library for Arduinos out there.

i want to use arcade buttons like in arcade sticks, but re arrange them in a keyboard manner but with only buttons for WASD and 8 buttons for hits
i have a usb keyboard pcb i just salvaged from the keyboard, wondering if i could use that (probably could, just need to figure out what to solder to what)

Probably not, it would specifically need to support a good amount of key-rollover, and it won’t do SOCD filtering on its own. Pony up the $35 for a Cthulhu.

Step 1) Go to Godlike Controls. Grab a PC/PS3 Cthulhu, and if you want to make it easy for yourself, a chained wiring harness (will cover wiring for 12 buttons, IIRC). Also grab a USB cable.
Step 2) Build everything. Wiring is as simple as running one wire for ground (the daisy chain) to one terminal on each button, then one from the appropriate signal on the board to each unused terminal.