Buying a new monitor

Not sure if this is the place to ask, since I’m fairly new to shoryuken, but I guess its worth a try.

Background: Okay first off, I’m pretty oblivious to these kind of things. I know there are many options like contrast ratio, response time, resolutions, and etc but I’m not entirely sure of whats important or not. I have never really used widescreen as a gaming platform, and when I have I didn’t really like it but I hear its better than what I use now. My current monitor is a 22" VX2255wm LCD from Viewsonic:

http://www.viewsoniceurope.com/de/products/desktop-monitors/lcd/x-series/vx2255wm.htm

It says its widescreen, but it doesn’t really seem like it to me. I like the current monitor because of its large resolution and its microphone is pretty good. However I feel like its time to upgrade.

Minimum requirements for new monitor: I have never experienced HDMI yet and I’ve always wanted to try so I am willing to put $200-$300 into my next monitor. For this next monitor I want at least:

-an Identical resolution as my previous one, 1680 x 1050
-HDMI input
-DVI input
-the ability to have my PS3 and PC connected to the same monitor, and can switch between the two by pressing a button. For my current monitor, I have to constantly switch the DVI cables and I don’t want to have to do that again.
-No lag

**Extra features that are not really top priority:

• **microphone
  • webcam
  • an additional HDMI and DVI input
  • Preferably no built in speakers
  • USB drive

Expectations: I’m really only looking for advice and recommendations. Anything you say will probably be new information to me because I’m fairly new to shopping for monitors. Thanks guys.

Ever consider a KVM switch for the 2 DVI cables?
Not as elegant as a single button, but you do not have to swap cables.

Ever considered the ASUS VH236H, a.k.a. the Evo monitor in SRK.
Best lag free 23" Monitor in terms of Price vs Performance.

Yes it has speakers but no one uses them any ways.