C. Viper Technical Practice Thread

c-viper

So I’m a dedicated C. Viper user, and one of my big problems is that I’m not technical when it comes to playing on stick. I played Melee, which is a fast and technical game, but is played on a pad and is not at all like street fighter, and I’ve messed around with Tatsunoko and SF4, but still, not really the same thing. I figure that you need to be technical to play Viper really really well. This thread chronicles the technical practice that I will be doing with her in order to get better at the game and Viper. I’ll start with what I currently do, then state what I want to be able to do, and then state the practice method that I’m using to do it.

But this thread isn’t just for me. Feel free to post ways that you practice. Post things that you want to learn or have learned and how you learned them, or how you’re going to learn them. Setting small and specific goals that lead to a bigger goal is very important when it comes to improving at anything I think, so that’s what this thread is for. Also for learning how to learn, which is equally important.

I break my Viper game down into four sections - Combos, Mix-ups, Movement, and Keep-Away. With sections, its easy to divide my game into sub-sections and work on it from there. I’ll be using a timer to make sure I practice the strings for as long as I need to to be effective. Here goes:

Combos
Current BNB
L M F S (Launch) sjc L M F S (Bounce) qcb Super
I Want…
Jump F, M F xx qcf MP xx qcf LP+S (crumple) xx L M F S (Launch) sjc M M F jc F S Seismo qcb Super

Practice Method
Master each of the following 5 move strings:
Triangle Jump F, M F xx qcf MP xx qcf LP+S
L M F S (Launch) sjc M
S sjc M M F jc F S
S sjc S Seismo Super

Put it all together

Practice timer: 10 Minutes

Box Dash Loop
L M H Siesmo IAD falling (air) H S (land) M H Siesmo IAD (air) H S (land) M H S jc M M H S land Siesmo

Mix-Ups
Currently…
Never Ever Do Right

I Want…
High-Low Mixups
Throw Mixups
Cross-Ups