Can anyone teach me please

evil-ryu

hi, im quite new to this game and im using evil ryu, howevery i keep getting crush online.i have already learn all the b&b and combo, and my execution is not bad as i can pull off almost all combo/B&b plus i have put in a lot of effort and sharpen my anti air.

the problem is i have no idea what to do in a match, how much spacing do i need? how can i close in?(if i cant close in i cant land my combo.)
im totally no threat to my opponent. they are not having pressure at all because the whole game im playing reacting to what they do.How can i have more initiative and be offensive?

here are 2 video(HD). please guide me to reach a higher level of gameplay. it seems i never have a chance to be offensive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUN3VPKdoXg&hd=1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfWC3aKUPIU&hd=1

Don’t take my word as sacred as i’m a fellow noob but i’ll give it a shot. It’s about footsies. Generic answer but it’s the truth :slight_smile: Essentially it’s trying to get from neutral position to an advantageous one like you said you’re having trouble with.

I found these two explain the ways to do that:

http://sonichurricane.com/?page_id=1702

Go into training mode to see the spacing of other character’s pokes

P.S Use your meter! I may be ocd about finishing rounds with super but still, Evil Ryu with 2 bars is one of the scariest dudes in the business :smiley:

hey thanks. appreciate your help.:slight_smile:

Try finding someone who is closer to your level. First video was a clear example that the player was just better than you. Nothing to be ashamed off ;), but he was just throwing out stuff hoping that you would press a button. Which he got away with.

My advice would be to first play original Ryu, only because as you stated are a fairly new player. Learn the fundamentals and then take what you have learned and apply that to E.Ryu. I know its not quite what you want to hear but it will help in the long run.