Can I use a random joystick for SF4 for PC?

So I recently bought SF4 for PC, somewhat compulsively… great game anyway.

Not being a fighting game veteran, I didn’t realize keyboards really suck for this kind of game. (E.g zangiefs super and ultra combos, just no way to do them with arrows)

So my options are these:

1. buy a xbox360 controller wireless reciever for my PC (I have an xbox360 with controllers already)
  2. buy some random joystick which I can probably get cheap, and just use that + keyboard.
  3. continue playing with keyboard, and fight with the precision of a lobotomized monkey

but will option 2 work without a lot of hassle? Like, I can use the keys as normal on the keyboard, but the stick for movement. I am not going to buy the IV4 arcade pad joystick, seeing as I could probably buy myself a small island for that price.

If you’re not serious about playing, you could just stick with a pad and buy a wireless receiver. They work great and you can use them for all sorts of games. I personally use the keyboard and have no trouble with it, so you can always go that route if you want to save money. It’s perfectly viable, but kind of excludes you from non-PC fighters.

I’ve seen TE sticks go for 80 on sale, that’s hardly considered a small island for optimal control.

Sorry if I am being retarded here, but you said that some random joystick will function with this game? If so, that is probably what I am going to do. I prefer the actual buttons for moves on a keyboard over a controller, it’s the arrow keys for movement that I can’t stand.

Any USB joystick more-than-likely has PC support. I can’t say for certain because I don’t know how shitty a stick you’re buying.

In the case that it’s not supported natively in SFIV, you can always use Joy2Key.

You’re risking getting a crappy stick on your setup, though. Not all sticks are the same.

Could try something like this.

http://www.amazon.com/Retrolink-Saturn-Classic-Controller-Black-Pc/dp/B002BFVAV0