Can't get better?

I’ve been playing fighting games for a few years now and wanted to go play in tournaments however I’ve a major problem with combos. I practice BNB any free chance I get, can barely do them in training mode, and can’t do anything against anyone when ever I play someone, online or off. I’ve tried learning to play SSF4, BB:CS, and now with MVC3, but I’ve had very little success with any game I play. Exception being 3D fighters I’m decent at playing DOA and Tekken, but they’re boring to me. There is something I’m doing wrong but I’ve no idea. Any advise?

for mvc3 what combos are you trying to do, with what characters exactly.

and for blazblue… for me jump cancels are hard :<