Cant parry

hey new here , recently got SFIII, ps2 owner, couldnt afford DC. Very much influenced with diagos video, ive just gotten a faq over parrying but would like to hear peopls personal views, its quite difficult for me, i am not a bad player but i am new to this parry system, tapping Forward at the impact of the attack, works rarley for me.
Does the directional system make a huge difference over how hard it is to parry ?
Looking at the red parry faq, what is red parry. :confused:

currently downloading a system direction combo video, the players seem to be much faster in the video, system direction have that much of an effect, i have around 8 pages printed out about system direction, gonna go read em soon, cant mess around with it without reading because games in japenese.

P.s: any links to other SFIII fighting or combo videos.

thanking you
a newbe,
i know i am :lame: :wink:

are yout rying to just flat out parry like nothing?

you gotta expect the attack, you can’t just walk around expecting to parry attacks at random,

learn the timing of attacks in training mode and bust em out in a real match, don’t expect to parry anything that isn’t a laggy poke or fire ball or super / uppercut.

it’s easiest to parry fireballs so start witht hat, and remember you have to do only foward

no down foward or up foward and since you may be playing with the analog on a ps2 control a sloppy foward may not read as a parry resulting in getting hit.

also know that you can parry as part of moves, like say your doing a hadoken for the few frames that you press down for your hadoken if you pressed only down any low attack will be parried and also if your going for a upper cut , the foward then the down … ect. so you can accidently parry things but really , parry is a strong weapon in 3s, start with fire balls then learn how to parry attacks that are used often by your opponents. Parrying uppercuts also helps since there is no air block.