Changing from Q to Ibuki

ibuki

Just like another member of the forums I’m changing from Q to Ibuki (after deciding between Ibuki, Elena and Necro) because I feel that I wanted a more agile character. Thing is that unlike the other guy I’m not very good at all, I hardly know the basics.

I’ve read through the faq and guide here, but I’m still very confused on how to execute a SCJ/SJC or what I should do in order to get closer to the opponent. Maybe a vet Ibuki could give me some hints, or point me to a part of the faq I must’ve missed? It seems all guides so far take it for granted that you know how to execute everything in them >_>

“Just like another member of the forums I’m changing from Q to Ibuki”

I’m guessing you are talking about me?

I was down to Elena, Ibuki and Oro. I think Ibuki is the way to go in your trio also.

Not having spent too much time with Q might actually help you here. The difference between Q and Ibuki is so vast I actually think I had to relearn some aspects of the game when switching over.

SJ is just like normal jumping, but you hit the opposite direction first. So if you wanna jump up, hit down and then up really fast. Don’t think of it as down (pause) then up, its almost one motion. I tap down and then actually let the stick reset itself in neutral, and right before it stops in neutral I tap up.

A SJC is interrupting anything with a SJ. The thing you will use this the most for is your standing close HK. Practice doing SJs and then practice standing close HK into SJ.

To get an idea of what skilled Ibuki play looks like (or what you should be ready to learn) check out Aruka videos on youtube. Other good Ibuki players are fume and red I think.

Personally, out of all the differences between Q and Ibuki, I think ratio of defence and offense is the biggest game play difference. Q is like 90% turtle and 10% smash face. Ibuki is like 90% pressure and 10% jump away and throw shit.

Let me know if you have any questions.