Character Selection

I am new to Street Fighter IV and I am having trouble picking someone to main. There are a few characters that I am interested in, but I was wanting to know who would be the easiest to pick up/most rewarding when starting out. I have been trying Abel, Fei Long, Ken, Honda, Dudley, Cammy, and Adon. Are there any of those that I should be wary of when I am a scrub? Any suggestions?

Play around with the characters you are interested in the most…and narrow it down for yourself.

Even if we hold your hand and tell you “pick a top tier”…because you are new you are still going to get bodied from the start, and then you’ll come back here crying that we picked the wrong character for you.

This isn’t rocket science.

Well. There’s Ryu, Evil Ryu, Evil-er Ryu (Akuma), Demon Ryu (Oni), Blonde Ryu (Ken), Girl Ryu (Sakura), Tiger Ryu (Sagat), Old Ryu (Gouken), and Troll Ryu (Dan).

Take your pick.

After a long day of random ultra Ryu’s I just wanna vent, okay?

When I first started out I went into arcade mode with each character and the ones I liked I went into training mode with them and learned them. After that I broke it down to the most appealing one and used him

Play whoever you think looks cool. You can learn the game with anyone.

play Yun :tup:

But in all honesty, pick someone who looks cool or has the best cleavage.

dont pick oni, oni is banned.

to be honest i myself cannot pick a main cause i keep messing around with characters.

ryu or ken is always a good choice .

Lol well the cleavage part we all know who that is…C.Viper but that’s not where you wanna start off.

ONE UPPED, SIR. They bumped her up a cup size for that skin :smiley:
Anyway, back on topic…I understand why I would ban Oni, but why is Oni banned?

go to training mode. mess around
do trials. mess arounds
ask questions on dedicated subforums for the characters
go play some matches. Dedicate a day to just one character, take notes.
submit notes for feedback in subforums