Character Types

As the title says, this is about the types of characters. I’m not talking about the archetypes or whatever (hero, cute girl, etc), but more like game play types.

I’m not new to fighting games at all, but I’ve never found a community in town for these kinds of games…course the one arcade we had got shutdown, so that pretty much kills any chance of that. Even still, I’m not a complete noob at them. I’d say I’m on that line between beginner and intermediate. I can do some basic canceling and all that, but I’m unfamiliar with the majority of terms used out there, especially when labeling a character as such…even more so, what it is about said characters that makes them such.

Rushdown, turterler, technical, all words I’ve seen used in various guides…but I’m unfamiliar with them and in most cases, can’t figure out why a character would be labeled as such (especially when it comes to technical).

So pretty much, if it’s not too much trouble at all, if one (or more) of you could enlighten me on this subject (via here or a link). I’m pretty much curious about all the different types and what kind of techniques generally make up that kind of character type.

Thanks in advance.

http://sonichurricane.com/articles/sfterms.html

Thanks for that link there. It has cleared a lot of things up for me. I’m gathering that rush down characters are more of the big combo types of characters and turtles are more of the hit and run types. So, when considering those two, is it the type of moves they have that play more of a factor in which category they fall into, or is it more of their recovery and all that? And still, what, if anything, makes a character technical compared to rush down and turtle? Or is that just another way to describe a character better played defensively?

the simple way to generalize is this:

rush down characters force mistakes

turtle characters wait for mistakes