Cheapest quality ps2 stick

Hell everyone. I have a madcatz TE stick for 360 with no plans to mod that right now.

I’m looking for the easiest/cheapest quality ps2 arcade stick since I’ve gotten into 3S lately.

I have no experience modding (I could swap buttons and stick on the TE but…) but would be willing to do anything that’s easy for a beginner. Should I buy a case and mod? I can’t seem to find any good ps2 sticks now, and I don’t want to spend too much.

I also have no tools (dremel etc,) but would purchase if need be.

Would I be able to buy a wii or ps3 madcatz SE and mod the wire somehow?

I’m lost :slight_smile:

EDIT: I own an x-arcade stick from years ago, could i just drop in a sanwa stick and buttons?

u can use a cthulhu to wire for ps2 or just wire it to a case. no soldering

the x-arcade uses happ style so the joystick might fight with a universal mounting plate but the shaft might be realy low. the buttons will not fit unless u cut the holes and sand down the underside of the control panel.

Ok, So I’d need the multi-console cthulhu board, and a case/joystick/buttons? Would I then simply run wires from the cthulhu to each button? And what do I use for wire (I really am a newb)? Could I indeed use a madcatz fightstick SE since it’s already fit for the sanwa parts I want to use (same as in the TE stick)

Thanks for the reply so far. I don’t really like the x-arcade case anyway, it’s too heavy and uncomfortable on a lap.

So you’re looking for a ps2 stick? Your options include the Hori RAP1/2, Tekken 5, Arcana Heart, and Namco sticks, but these are hard to come by. You could try checking eBay.

Then there are generic Chinese sticks like the Mayflash stick that have a connector for both PS2 and PS3/PC. These have crap stock parts but are relatively easy to mod if you know how to solder.

If soldering is too difficult for you, than a MC-Cthulhu will definitely work but you will have to put together the cables yourself like the RJ45 cable mod.