Choosing between Sticks

I’ve never bought a stick for a console before, and I would like to get one because I’m constantly playing fighting games and I think it could help me out.

I’ve been reading all the threads and the majority of them talk about building your own sticks or the difference between American and Japanese parts and so on. Since I’m new to this and basically I just want to try it out, I’m looking for something I can already buy and play without having to build it myself or modify it. I would prefer to get something that is not too expensive but wouldn’t mind paying more for something that is more reliable and would give me a better experience over time.

I’m looking for something for the ps3, and I found these two options right here:

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-zl-49-en-70-2byy.html

For what little I understand the Soul Calibur one should be good because is a Hori stick, and at $35 it sounds like a great price. The one thing I don’t like about it is the way that the buttons are lined up, makes it seem like the right hand would have to be at an awkward position while playing.

The Mayflash is even cheaper and seems to have a better button layout, but I’m afraid that the price might be because the quality is not as good or something. What do you know about this brand?

Which one would you recommend, or do you think I should try another kind. Thanks in advance.

I seen the Mayflash selling on ebay for cheaper than that website and shipping will prob be cheaper too.

Send me a PM and when I find it I’ll PM you the link. (I’m pretty sure he’s selling it for $25.00 brand new)

The quality on both those sticks is pretty low. You get what you pay for; neither uses real arcade parts. Get this instead:

Though the buttons are hori knockoffs, the stick is a real Sanwa JLF. The buttons are easy to mod out later if you decide you want to.

I just saw one sell on ebay for 81$ and free shipping.