Chun-Li Charges?

So, My main is Chun-Li in Street Fighter IV. I’m not very good at working with charges at the moment, and at this point, because of some of the charges (such as that of EX Legs and her super and ultra), I am literally just standing there crouched and blocking for seconds at a time while I wait for my charges, and then when I do let them out, they’re completely predictable.
I know that you’re supposed to hold the charges during other moves and whatnot, but I don’t know how to cancel very well, so it’s not possible for me to cancel into Chun’s supers and ultras.

Also, I have a tactic where, seeing as it has pretty high priority, I use EX legs at the start of a match when I’m approached to do some damage and knock them back…
I feel like it’s pretty rookie, but i know that EX legs are a pretty important part of any Chun-Li comboset.
Is it a viable option, or should I drop it while I still can?

Also, just an auxiliary question, how long did it take some of you veterans to get a really good grip on you character’s best combos and whatnot? Because I took a look at the comboset for Chun-Li on this forum and I was a little overwhelmed…

Start off with her basics, no need to worry about any of the other ones until you have a grasp on these. An easy way to achieve ex legs is to double tap all 3 kick buttons fairly quickly. Of course there are a few more precise methods but its requires grueling training.

Bread n butter combo: c.lk x3 > ex legs

Punish combo : st.rh > ex legs

Jump in combo: Target Combo > c.hp > spinning bird kick

I believe you can link the ultra from her standing far jab but its way too hard if you can’t do the bnbs yet, so stick with trying to learn c.mk > super until you get the hang of that, although not the best tactic in the world you have a better chance of hitting that then a random super.