Coming from 3rd strike... need help with focus attack amongst other things

I’ve been playing 3rd strike for about 2 years now bu
t I’ve decided to take this game a bit more seriously. I’ve been playing online and it seems players there catch on that I don’t know hoe to real with focus. I’m so used to parrying that I always seem to get caught unawares whenever a character enteres the focus animation, and it usually ends up with me losing a good amount of life.

Would be great if someone could really explain how the focus attack itself works(I’m familiar with fadc and can do all that) and how to deal with the opponents focus attack.

Also, any tips for someone coming from 3rd strike would be great. I can already tell this game takes way more caution and patience.

I come from 3rd strike, but it isn’t an excuse for me to bad at this game.

I have learned to not even look at the game from a 3s perspective besides bringing the distance of my footsies along.

NOTHING from 3s applies to here besides the obvious fundamentals and YOMI.

You can’t jump in when you feel like doing some Rambo shit. It took a lot of getting used to, but I am still in the learning process as well.

From what I can gather (don’t flame me if I’m wrong) but I see people using the focus attacks when they see unsafe jumping attacks come their way and plan on punishing. Or baiting (with instant focus and dashing back). I don’t use it often.

Maybe I should use it more than I do now, but I just can’t apply it as well as others can. I also believe tthat certain characters rely on their focus attack more than others.
If you’re westcoast, hit me up and we can play together. In our own lobby. Just me and you. Man to man. No homo