Comp Stick Problem

Just got a new MAS with a Competition stick and when playing with it I noticed when moving it in a 360, there are distinctive notches at left+down and right+down, as if I was playing on a square gate. It bothered me a lot when doing fireball motions so I rotated the stick base 180 degrees so that the notches would be on the top but now I just feel the notch when I play left.

I don’t know what exactly the problem is or how to fix it but I know it has to do with the actuator and how it presses against the stick base and microswitches. Anyone have any suggestions?

I’m a really newb at sticks, but as far as I have read, an octagonal restrictor is prefered in 2D fighting games. Making it easier to perform those desired motions.

I guess you just have to switch the default square restrictor, with an octagonal.

You can’t switch the restrictor on a Comp. You’re thinking of a Sanwa JLF with square/octagon restrictor options.

Any notches you feel should all be the same for each corner. The way the switches mount to the base, there isn’t any room for adjustment. Try spinning just the actuator 90 degrees. If you changed the base 180, and the problem only changed 90, that could be it. Maybe it was molded off-center or somehow got tweaked?

sometimes there is some excess plastic on the actuator that will get caught on the switches, i’d check for that.

If thats the problem you could just replace it and/or file the imperfections off.

Yeah, you should take it apart and look for random junk that might have gotten in there. Its happened to me in both my bottons and in my sticks, and its an easy fix.

The holes for mounting the cherry switches are not always symmetrical, you can have the top switch up to 1/2 mm closer to the actuator than the bottom one. what happens then is the actuator makes too much contact with the switch creating a flat section in the circular motion of the stick.