Competition (Convex) joystick help

I’m currently using a competition (convex) joystick but I find it to be more resistance and stiffness. is it possible to modify it in a way to make it more loose or do I have to buy a Sanwa octo gate and replace it? another question is it true Sanwa octo gate joystick are more sensitive?

What the fuck?

Do you even know what you’re trying to modify?

Lmao.

I prefer the concave joysticks myself

sorry , I wasn’t too specific of what I’m talking about. :wgrin: I’m new to all this kind of stuff that is why I need help. I need to know is the sanwa GTY octo gate are less resistance and more sensitive to the Convex joystick. the joystick I’m trying to modify is from Arcade in a BOx. another question is it true convex joystick are octo gate too?

I’d like to see a concave joystick.

But I think he’s saying he purchased a Happ Competition Joystick and thought it was too stiff, so he wanted to put an octogate on it… which he can’t. Wow, I’m not really sure how to help here.

“Gates” on JLF’s have nothing to do with the resistance or sensitivity of the stick. What you might want to do is get a softer spring for your “Convex” joystick.

on the subject of actually tryin to straighten out this poor fool

-happ competition joystick (convex/concave are words to describe their buttons)
-sanwa jlf joystick (gty octogate refers to a special restrictor you can buy for the sanwa jlf)

but yeah from what it sounds like you want to reduce the tension of the spring. did that thing kowal did where he “burned” the spring reduce tension or increase it?

yes, this is what I’m talking about. do you know where I can get a softer spring? and is it more of a hassle to replace with a Sanwa JLF GT-Y ?

I got this from Arcade in a Box, its a ps3/360 slim custom with sanwa buttons. I never thought the convex joystick are so tension. I really need to find a to reduce it.

Okay, dude.