Complete beginner: Chun Li vs Zangief

I picked SSFIV a couple of weeks ago and I just had some time to get started. I am new to the genre, so I read most stickies regarding game info and watched a couple of videos.

I decided to start with Chun Li, which is probably not the best idea, and practiced mid-range poking and BnB combos in training mode along with some AA against both the AI and recorded sequences.

Playing against the AI, I realized that at a given difficulty, Zangief (and most bigger characters) will completely destroy me, moreso than other characters. As hard as I try to keep him away and try to gain ground on him without getting grabbed, I always end up stuck in the corner and cannot manage to escape by doing and overhead without getting punished… hard. If I get knocked down, I’m unable to block his instant grabs as soon as I get up and half of my life is already gone. Should I be able to avoid get grabbed upon wakeup?

How should I approach this matchup? When I watch Chun vs Zangief videos, I see that both players are both careful when moving in, especially Zangief. This probably means I should be able to punish the more careless AI somehow. I tried searching the forums but couldn’t find any info, I guess most people here know how to play already. Any help is appreciated.

Playing against the AI is different than playing against a real person. The computer will punish a jab before it comes out with an Ultra combo. Something that no human will ever be able to do.

If you’re being grabbed on wake up, just neutral jump.