Complete Hori EX2 Makeover Project

Hello all, First of all I?d like to say how cool this website/forum is. I just found it out of luck looking for stick mods on YouTube! I?m a complete newbie to stick modding but have read/watched some basic stuff about it for the past 2 weeks or so. I used to be into fighting games a lot many moons ago (Street Fighter Alpha 3) but recently got the spark again when I picked up Super Street Fighter 4. I immediately got fed up with a pad and decided to buy a ?FightStick?, I was on a very tight budget (new baby) so picked up the Hori EX2.

Now here?s my idea ? I want to completely overhaul this thing with a new Sanwa Stick, artwork and Sanwa buttons. When it comes to the buttons however I want to add 2 more where the original 6 are:

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/7171/horiex2mod.jpg

This is my rough concept for the new layout, as you can see it now has 8 buttons instead of 6 which means that I?m going to have to move the LB and RB buttons from the top panel to the side of the other buttons. I?m going to make a custom steel panel to accommodate these extra two buttons and fill in the holes with resin where the LB and RB buttons were. With my limited electronic knowledge I?m not sure this is even possible in terms of how the PCB works.

http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/5541/horiex2pcb.jpg

As I understand the EX2 has a common ground PCB (I could be wrong on this) but I?m not sure about the top panel board. So here come the questions:
Please note I?m a compete newb at this so explain it like im a 5 year old lol.

1. If the main PCB is common ground but the top PCB isn?t how would I wire the 2 new Sanwa Buttons? If everything is common ground, is it a case of simply wiring the PCB connections to the new buttons?

2. I?m planning on buying the Sanwa JLW-UM-8 Joystick as it seems a more compact design than the other Sanwa Joysticks. How would I wire this Joystick up with the EX2?s PCB and will it work with this configuration?