Complete noob to SSF4, thinking of maining Viper

c-viper

As the title indicates, I’m really new to SF4, and to trying to take fighting games seriously in general. As such, I wanted to know what people’s thoughts were on me trying to learn the game as Viper. Other fighters I’ve considered are Cody, Sakura, and possibly Rufus (if I get around to buying the alternate costumes, his normal I can’t bear to look at).

I’ve messed around for at least 15 minutes or so (more for those that I’ve liked) in training and/or arcade mode with most characters. I did less with characters who have charge-input specials; I suck at those.

Also, I just bought a fight stick, the SE MadCatz one rather than TE as I’m new to the scene and am not sure how far I will go with it.

Thanks,

Durfee

If you’re new to fighting games in general, it might not be the best idea to main Viper.
Not because she is considered a difficult character execution-wise, but because she has an unorthodox playstyle. What you learn with her might not apply to other chars.

Really, if I could choose again my 1st char as an SF4 beginner, I would take a char with solid fondamentals :

• good footsies
  • good anti air
  • a dp-like move
  • reliable ways to land an ultra
  • good FADC combos
    These are the basic SF4 tools, and practicing a char having them is a good thing imo.

This qualifies : ryu, ken, akuma, sagat, rufus, boxer, adon, cammy, fei long, seth.
I would avoid mixup-based chars, grapplers, unorthodox chars and lacking chars for a 1st choice.

I leaned sf (in general) from vipers pov. It’s not that bad, just make sure u learn the right things, don’t get carried away with being 100% offensive. A simple patient viper can do well, she plays like a shoto at heart anyway.

Ps. Don’t get frustrate getting obliterated by rog, gief, blanka, Honda and a few others, those matches will feel unwinable without practice